Most mobile and desktop internet browsers automatically save some information about the sites you have visited, including things you have searched for online.
There are steps you can take to protect yourself if you think someone might be monitoring your activity.
However, if you share your computer with someone else, you may delete their saved passwords or other information, which could make them suspicious.
To avoid arousing suspicion, you should delete certain parts of your history, rather than clearing it all.
If you click the Exit button in the top right corner of your screen it will take you to the BBC News homepage. It won’t delete the fact that you have been on our website.