3 Facts About FGM

Fact 1: There are 4 types of FGM.

  • Clitoridectomy
  • Excision
  • Infibulation
  • All harmful procedures to the female genitalia for non-medical purposes, e.g. cauterising

Female genital mutilation (FGM) is any procedure involving partial or total removal of the external female genitals or other injury to the female genital organs for non-medical reasons.

Fact 2: FGM is against the law in the UK.

Female genital mutilation (FGM) was made illegal in the UK in 1985 for women and girls.

Fact 3: FGM is not a religious obligation.

Religion is often used as a reason to justify FGM but there is no religious text that says that FGM is compulsory – it is a harmful traditional practice.

There are many signs and indicators to someone at risk of FGM or suffering from the procedure. If you need help and advice, please don’t hesitate to contact Savera UK on our helpline 0800 107 0726. If you are a professional and would like Savera UK to speak to your staff or students about Harmful Practices please email info@saverauk.co.uk with your enquiry.


Photo credit:Tess Nebula